Chicagonapnap new header1
Il napnap avatar 256x256
Illinois Chicago Chapter of NAPNAP

ISAPN: Proposed Revision

Posted almost 9 years ago by Jennifer Armstrong

Last week, the Presidents and GR chairs of both ISAPN and IANA, conferred with our State lobbyists regarding SB 2567 and the ongoing effort to eliminate the Written Collaborative Agreement requirement as presently required under the current Nurse Practice Act. While we have been successful in educating some of the legislators in the General Assembly, we lack the support to move the bill forward and need to focus on educating more legislators at this time.

In short, we will be deferring having the bill called for a vote until there is more member and legislator support. The road to advancing our practice in Illinois is not going to come from a select few in the Association leadership or our lobbyists whom have already delivered the message, but from the Association general membership itself – meeting with their own District lawmakers in the hometown communities throughout every corner of this State.

If you take the time in your free time to invest one hour of this Spring in your profession, it will have a measurable and lasting impact upon your future. We call upon you to make that hour a visit to your local legislator to join us in educating the Members of your General Assembly why this change in the Nurse Practice Act is so needed and how it will positively impact the delivery of care to our patients and their constituents. The legislators have asked for your personal input and welcome your visit.


Attached below are the materials to plan that one hour – we will look forward to your grassroots report in the coming weeks. Our Government Relations Committee will be tracking those visits and if we don’t hear from you soon, expect a follow up call.

Click Here - APN Background Information (PDF)

Click Here - SB 2567: Senator Heather Steans (PDF)

Click Here - To view all Recent Legislative Updates

Together that investment of one hour on your part will change our profession and pave the way for those to follow behind us.

Thank you.

Julie Adins, APN/CNP, President of ISAPN

Bridget A. Cahill, APN/CNP, GR chairperson of ISAPN

Leonard Jenkins, APN/CRNA, President of IANA

Randall Moore, APN/CRNA, GR chairperson of IANA